Skip to:
  1. Home
  2. Press & Media
  3. Events Calendar
  4. Vienna Philharmonic to Perform During Filarmonica della Scala Season
Share this event on:
  • LinkedIn

Recomend this page

Thank you, we sent your recommendation to the desired recipient.

Sorry, this functionality is not available right now.
Please try with this link. Thank you.


Recipient (e-mail address):

Vienna Philharmonic to Perform During Filarmonica della Scala Season

  • 18

January 2014
La Scala Theater, Milan  

On Saturday, January 18, an extraordinary concert will take place during the 2013-2014 season of the Filarmonica della Scala when conductor Riccardo Chailly and violinist Leonidas Kavakos return to the stage of the Piermarini Theater with the Vienna Philharmonic.


The Vienna Philharmonic last played in Milan in 2009. It is the seventh orchestra to be hosted by La Scala since the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra was first invited to perform during the 2007 season.


This performance has special significance, not only because of the Vienna Philharmonic's prominent place in music history, but also because the orchestra was the inspiration for Claudio Abbado and the musicians of La Scala when they founded the Filarmonica della Scala in 1982.


UniCredit has been the main partner of the Filarmonica della Scala since 2003. We are proud to support this special concert, which will bring an internationally acclaimed orchestra to perform in Milan. This event will offer the people of Milan an opportunity to hear acclaimed musicians working together with top international talent.


UniCredit supports the Filarmonica della Scala, as well as a number of other musical and cultural initiatives, because we believe deeply in the importance of stimulating artistic endeavors in support of the sustainable development of the communities in which we live and work.


The concert program:



Riccardo Chailly, Conductor

Vienna Philharmonic, Guest Orchestra

Leonidas Kavakos, Violin



Jean Sibelius, Finlandia, Op. 26

Jean Sibelius, Violin Concerto in D minor

Anton Bruckner, Symphony No.6 in A major



Buy tickets from, beginning on December 18, 2013.



For more information, please visit the website of the Filarmonica della Scala.