Share this event on:
  • LinkedIn

Recomend this page

Thank you, we sent your recommendation to the desired recipient.

Sorry, this functionality is not available right now.
Please try with this link. Thank you.

The Winners of UniCredit & Universities 2010 Competitions

The Winners of UniCredit & Universities 2010 Competitions

The winning students and researchers of the UniCredit & Universities 2010 competitions were honored during an official ceremony held at the Aula Magna of UniCredit in Milan on 9 June, 2011. Dieter Rampl, the UniCredit Chairman, personally congratulated the winners.


During the event, the three Crivelli Europe Scholarships were presented to Ludovica Gazzè and Enrico Cantoni, who have chosen to carry out a PhD at MIT in Boston (USA), and to Alessandro Vecchiato, who chose a research doctorate at UCLA, Los Angeles (USA ).


Birgit Altmann, Federico Rossi, Andreas Kalker and Lorenzo Prosperi are the winners of the four Master scholarships, who were offered a place for a Master's in Economics at one of the four most prestigious schools in Europe: Stockholm School of Economics,  London School of Economics , Barcelona Graduate School of Economics and  Toulouse School of Economics.


The winners of the six Scholarships for places on two Master programmes organised by the LUISS School of Government are: Ekaterina Burdina from Russia, Aynura Ismaylova from Azerbaijan, Eleonora Mura from Italy, Dorina Damsa from Romania, Petra Tisoczki from Hungary and Sahizer Samuk from Turkey.


Andrea Colciago, researcher at Bicocca University of Milan, Francesco Drago, researcher at University Parthenope of Naples and Salvatore Piccolo, researcher at University Federico II at Naples are the winners of  the three post-doc research grants.


The prestigious Foscolo Europe Fellowship was presented to Mirco Tonin, Italian researcher at Southampton University (GB) who will continue his research at the Department of Economics of the Central European University, Budapest, Hungary.


The six CEE Best PhD Thesis Awards were presented to Zvezda Dermendzhieva (Bulgaria), Daniel Horn (Hungary), Branislav Saxa (Slovakia), Elgin Ceyhun (Turkey), Ekaterina Rashkova (Bulgaria) and Dora Fazekas (Turkey).


Finally, the three UniCredit Best Paper Awards,  a competition open to all Group employees, were presented to our colleagues Grzegorz Halaj from Bank Pekao, Alexander Schätz  from HVB, Jan Maruhn and Max Mair also from HVB and co-authors of the same paper. Three honorable mentions were presented to Kazmierkiewicz Piotr from Bank Pekao, Tekçe Bülent from Yapi Kredi and Daniele Ruspantini and Alessandra Sordi from UniCredit Spa.


Before the awards ceremony, Salvatore Rossi, Managing Director for Economic Research and International Relations of the Banca d'Italia held a keynote speech "Higher education for higher growth: the power of a cross-border knowledge".


In conclusion, Dieter Rampl presented the 2011 activity plan of the UniCredit & Universities Foundation: all the 2010 initiatives have been confirmed and some new ones have been added,  like a new scholarship for a PhD in the U.S. for top graduates coming from CEE countries, a new grant for a research project at a Business Administration School and eight grants for exchange programmes from/to Russia and Serbia to undergraduates from the 22 UniCredit countries.