A DAY IN THE LIFE OF... MIRKO BIANCHI

Our People

Friday 23 April 2021

23 April 2021

Mirko Bianchi started his career as an engineer and is now UniCredit’s CEO of Group Wealth Management & Private Banking. He’s an early bird who appreciates family life. He loves good food and collecting fine wines! Read about his working and private life below.

 

2:00 Min
mirko-bianchi-worklife

Who are you, when did you join UniCredit and what do you do?

I’m Mirko Bianchi. I started my career as a Chemical Engineer but switched to the Financial sector after studying for an MBA in the US. 30 years later, I’m still working in Banking. Over the years, I’ve occupied a variety of positions. Before joining Unicredit in 2009 in Milan as Group Head of Finance for example, I spent a good chunk of my professional career in New York and London at Bulge Bracket firms. After a stint in Vienna as CFO of Bank Austria and CEE countries, I was called back to Milan to become Group Chief Financial Officer in 2015. Then in October last year, I took over as CEO of Group Wealth Management & Private Banking.

 

Can you describe your ideal workday? 

My workday normally begins at 7.15. That’s when I coordinate and align with my colleagues on the actions for the day ahead. Then from 8.am, I start to attack an avalanche of meetings that generally continue throughout the day. In Group Wealth Management & Private Banking, we like to foster a “speak up” culture and a sense of belonging. Meetings are an ideal opportunity to do this. I feel particularly motivated when colleagues who work with me come together to find solutions and share suggestions and best-practices to continuously improve how we work. 

 

What do you eat at lunchtime normally?

A full meal, I burn a lot of energy. I'm a fan of grilled meat and I do gourmet barbecues with other meat lovers competing against each other. The meat comes from all over the world and with particular degrees of marbling. There's a whole world out there...

 

You have worked all over the world before coming back to Continental Europe. How does that help you in your daily activities at UniCredit?

It’s critical! Professionally, I was shaped with an Anglo-saxon managerial approach. During my roles in the US and the UK, I was fortunate enough to be immersed in a multitude of cultures, from which I learnt different ways of operating and dealing with situations. I think that’s why I really appreciate working with people from diverse backgrounds with different experiences. 

 

mirko-bianchi-private

Are you a morning or evening person?

Definitely a morning person.

 

What is your morning ritual before going to work?

My morning ritual has improved dramatically since the pandemic. I have been able to enjoy breakfast with my wife and my 12 year old daughter… something I haven’t done since she was born due to me working in Milan and my family being based in my hometown of Lugano in Switzerland.


What’s your favourite time of the day?

Definitely the evening, after an intense workday, and being able to relax around the dinner table and enjoy some precious family-time. If I’m not at home, we still have dinner together but virtually instead.

 

Do you have a hobby? (if yes, please elaborate)

My main hobbies are sailing in the summer, skiing in the winter, and mountain biking all year around. For me, being out in nature is essential to decompress from the pressures of work. I also love having friends over for big dinners and fine wines that I also like to collect. Unfortunately, this has not been possible for much of the past year. Added to that, I enjoy listening to music – a mix of opera, ballet, with some classic rock music thrown in.