Marco Fanno Association


The Marco Fanno Association was established in 1993, thirty years after Professor Giannino Parravicini, then Chairman of Mediocredito, started a scholarship programme of specialisation in economics and finance to study at the most prestigious foreign universities.


The general aim of the Association, chaired by Professor Tito Boeri is to promote academic studies and scientific research in economics and finance, to maintain and promote contacts between members, to contribute to the development of cultural exchanges with institutions with similar purposes and to propose scientific and cultural initiatives in the field of economics and finance.


The Association brings together all those who, over the years, have won, a scholarship launched by Mediocredito Centrale first and UniCredit Foundation later.

Among the ex-Fellows, the Association includes very important academics and finance managers, such as: Mario Draghi, Honorary Chairman of the Association,  Michele Salvati, Ignazio Visco, Alessandro Penati, Gabriele Galateri, Claudio Dematté, Giorgio Barba Navaretti, Marco Pagano, Tito Boeri, Anna Maria Tarantola, Lucrezia Reichlin, Pietro Modiano and many others.


On 18 July 2012, the Marco Fanno Association signed a collaboration agreement with UniCredit & Universities Foundation with the main purpose of continuing the long tradition of supporting the best students by launching scholarships named after distinguished economist Marco Fanno.


With the merger between UniCredit & Universities and UniCredit Foundation, the Foundation has taken responsibility for ensuring continuity in this important collaboration launched in 2012.


Thanks to this agreement, the Marco Fanno Association, can also meet among its Alumni all past winners of the scholarships and fellowships launched by UniCredit & Universities and now by UniCredit Foundation. The Association currently has around 500 members.


The Assembly hold on November 4th 2021 appointed Tito Boeri and Carmine Di Noia  (resigned on 17 February 2022) respectively President and Vice President of the Association, and Raffaella Sadun, Alessandra Voena and Tommaso Frattini as councilors. The same Assembly then appointed Giorgio Loli as Auditor and confirmed Giannantonio De Roni and Annalisa Aleati respectively Secretary General and Scientific Director of the Association.



The Association currently has around 500 hundred members. See more




The new calls for Study and Research are open. See more






The Assembly

According to the provisions of article 8 of the Statute, the Assembly represents the universality of the members and its resolutions oblige them even if they do not participate or dissent.
The same article 8 also provides that the assembly:
1 - issue directives for carrying out the activities of the Association;
2 - decide on the admission titles of the members and their exclusion;
3 - appoint the members of the Board of Directors;
4 - deliberations on proposals to modify the statute, on proposals for dissolution of the Association and on any other matter submitted to it by the Board of Directors.



According to the provisions of article 11 of the Statute, the President has the legal representation of the association. He convenes and chairs the Assembly and the Board of Directors. In case of absence or impediment, he is replaced by a vice president or his delegate with equal powers or functions.

The current president of the Marco Fanno Scholarship Association is Tito Boeri, appointed by the Board of Directors on 21 July 2015.

The Board of Directors


According to the provisions of articles 12 and 13 of the Statute, the Association is governed by a Board of Directors composed of three, five or seven members elected by the assembly from among the members, whose term of office is three years.
Furthermore, the Board of Directors elects a President and a Vice-President from among its members and can appoint a Secretary, even from outside its own members and associates.


The Board of Directors of the Association (5 members) currently in office is composed as follows:
Tito Boeri
Carmine Di Noia (resigned on 17/02/2022)
Raffaella Sadun
Alessandra Voena
Tommaso Frattini


The current Board of Directors has been in office since 28 October 2021.

The Auditor
According to the provisions of Article 16 of the Statute, the Auditor is appointed by the Assembly of Members, remains in office for three years and can be re-elected.

The current Auditor is Giorgio Loli, appointed by the Shareholders' Meeting on 4th November 2021.

The Honorary Chairman
Mario Draghi


The Secretary General
Giannantonio De Roni


The Scientific Director
Annalisa Aleati







Annual Report 2020

only Italian version