Share this event on:
  • LinkedIn

Recomend this page

Thank you, we sent your recommendation to the desired recipient.

Sorry, this functionality is not available right now.
Please try with this link. Thank you.


UniCredit Foundation is the corporate Foundation of UniCredit Group.


It is born from the merger, completed in April 2018, between UniCredit Foundation, established in 2003 with the goal of contributing to the development of solidarity and philanthropy in the communities and territories primarily where the Group is operating and UniCredit & Universities Foundation, established in 2009 which aims to promote studies and initiatives designed to deepen knowledge in the academic fields of finance, economics, law, politics and the social sciences.

The Governing bodies of the Foundation are:

  • the Board of Directors;
  • the Chairman;
  • the Secretary General;
  • the Board of Auditors;
  • the Scientific Committee.

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors approves objectives and programs of the Foundation proposed by the President, and examines its overall operating results.


The Board of Directors is composed by :

  • Maurizio Beretta - Chairman
  • Franco Bruni - Deputy Chairman
  • Giorgio Barba Navaretti - Director
  • Serenella De Candia - Director
  • Erik F. Nielsen - Director
  • Anna Maria Tarantola - Director
  • Giovanni Toniolo - Director

The Chairman

The Chairman is the legal representative of the Foundation before third parties, sees to the relations with authorities, institutions, private and public enterprises and other organizations, also for the purpose of establishing cooperation relationships and support for the various initiatives of the Foundation.


The current Chairman is Maurizio Beretta.

The Secretary General

The Secretary General is nominated by the Chairman and appointed by the Board of Directors. He ensures the execution of the resolutions of the Foundation's Board of Directors and reporting back to the Board on the provisions adopted and the results achieved.


The current Secretary General is Giannantonio De Roni.

The Board of Auditors

The Auditors' Committee is the accounting body of the Foundation and supervises the financial management of the Foundation, verifies that the accounting records are correctly kept, examines the draft budgets and financial statements, prepares the relevant reports and makes cash inspections.


The Board of Auditors is composed by:

Giorgio Loli - Chairman
Elisabetta Magistretti - Standing Member
Michele Paolillo - Standing Member

Claudia Cattani - Substitute Member
Valerio Villoresi - Substitute Member

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee, in its sole discretion, draws up the rankings of the candidates in order of merit for any scholarships, prizes and research grants set up by the Foundation's Board of Directors.



The Scientific Committee is composed by:

Marco Pagano - Chairman

Klaus Adam

Agar Brugiavini

Eliana La Ferrara

Christian Laux

Massimo Motta

Michele Tertilt

Branko Urosevic



The Scientific Committee is assisted by a series of scientific consultants who are, from time to time, tasked with evaluating specific initiatives that require scientific knowledge. The Scientific Consultants are: 

Guido Ascari  -   Macro Banking Finance Conference

Orazio Attanasio  -  Top-Up Foscolo Fellowship; Marco Fanno Fellowship

Miguel Bagues   -   Best Paper Award on Gender Equality

Francesco Caselli   -  Top-Up Foscolo Fellowship; Marco Fanno Fellowship

Aureo De Paula  -   EU Job Market Best Paper Award

Matthias Doepke   -  Best Paper Award on Gender Equality

Elsa Fornero  -   Summer School on Gender Equality

Camille Landais   -  EU Job Market Best Paper Award

Claudio Michelacci -    EU Job Market Best Paper Award

Michele Polo -    Masterscholarship; EU Job Market Best Paper Award

Paola Profeta  -   Best Paper Award on Gender Equality

Kjell Salvanes  -   EU Job Market Best Paper Award

Fabiano Schivardi  -   EU Job Market Best Paper Award

Mirco Tonin  -   Summer School Prize; Study Abroad Program

Josef Zechner   -  SUERF-UniCredit Foundation Prize


All Bodies of the Foundation are in office as of 5 March 2018 with the exception of the Secretary General and the Scientific Committee, in office as of 21 May 2018.



Updated to 1/07/2021


The Staff

Secretary General

Giannantonio De Roni

Scientific Director

Annalisa Aleati




Pietro Blengino

Anna Cravero

Anna Pace
Anna Maria Rizzi



Visit the website



Visit the website



Visit the website






Visit the website